What is Rii?

What is Rii?
Image
This post will mainly be about what Rii (pronounced “rye”) is and where it’s going. Who knows how long this read will get, but I dislike proof reading so let’s hope I keep it structured!
 Let us start with the basics. Crohn’s disease has kept me from being able to keep a normal job, keeping myself motivated and healthy while dealing with this body is the hardest challenge I have ever faced.  Well beyond my comprehension could have grasped, when I had a more average health and life. The medications I am on, along with the symptoms of my aliment are insane. I make the best of this life and don’t regret it, but some aspects are still hard to swallow. Just like my pills, at first it’s ridiculous to swallow even one horse sized pill but now I can take 23 pills at once, with my saliva. So there is a gross metaphor for you.
Image
I am a very motivated person and in an employment situation I am just as motived. Not only to push myself and my skills but to become the best employee I can be. Mix that routine devotion and stress with a body that cannot physically handle either is a recipe for ending in disaster, failure, and the hospital. I can change a lot of things about myself, but becoming a drone or doing the bare minimum to get by is not a trait I ever plan on working on. No matter how “understanding” a boss can be. I cannot myself, morally call in and say “Hey boss, I’m shitting up to 50 times a day for the next 4 years, I pass out a few times a day from blood loss and need to sleep for 3-4 days some times. Also that screaming in pain I sometimes do, yea just ignore that. Hope you don’t mind I’m weak, fragile, can’t handle stress and sometimes will spend 8 hours in the bathroom. So I should be in to work sometime within the next 1-7 years. Oh and don’t forget my hair still falls out, my body degrades, insomnia is just as prevalent as exhaustion. The mood swings, Rheumatoid arthritis, Osteoporosis along with that Celiac diet will still be there! We can look forward to some new adventures like; blindness, diabetes, multiple cancers, liver failure, or that annoying little in convince where you die. Are the shipments in order and ready to go out?”
Image
That may seem like a giant rant or pouring of feelings but I can say, and did just type that with a straight face and a few laughs. If I was healthy I would pick death rather than accept that as my future, but my life is fucking amazing and not just amazing with a superficial smile on my face, but one coming from my heart and soul. You may feel empathy or sadness when hearing a situation like mine, but sometimes shit goes so terribly wrong and ventures so far off the original plan, you just have to laugh. The situation is like I tried driving to the corner store and ended up in a South American rainforest. Do I just lay there with the snakes and parasites and let myself die while trying to figure out why or how I got there, or do I laugh my ass off, from something so impossible happening. Then make my shirt into a hat, probably get over the fear of drinking my own piss and start a trek. Depending on perspective either trekking through a wonderful unique habitat that I would of never discovered in my normal life, or a drag myself in a place of death and suffering. It’s my choice and I decided to appreciate the opportunity to peak behind the curtain and travel into the world of chronic illness.
Image
What should I do? I’m infinitely curious and modify the world around me every day, just to find the hidden knowledge saturated in every experience. I also have to live off of $13,000 a year. That is not a lot of income for adventures, especially when trying to figure out all the medication, travel, and lifestyle costs of a new life. Not to mention naturopathic solutions which will pretty much take your gold teeth as payment. Well like any problem I used to face, I’ll be at the skate park! My bike will always be my vice. But this time I can’t bike and runaway because my body is broken as fuck. Well I will just drive my cars but can’t afford gas or parts. Damn least I can just hang with friends, wait I’m shitting 50 times a day. That doesn’t create a fun atmosphere. So I fucking watched movies, painted and distracted myself from my problems and did that until I realized it’s time to take back my life. This is my one life. if I die and show up in the casket without at least one shark bite scar and a missing limb, I failed. Fuck perfect skin and easy lifestyle. I’m here to grab life by the dick and suck it, not act like its degrading and be scared of what might happen, time to find out what happens.
Image
My bucket list is probably and interesting one, but it’s more of a “to do list” that gets done. I had a lot of these goals before I was challenged and I would have put them off and never pursued them like most people. Just figured to myself “oh next year” or wait for the “prefect time”. There is never a perfect time in life. Want to write a book? Start to write. Want to restore a car? Go buy a piece of shit corolla. Want to build your own house? Why buy a half a million dollar one first? Go cut down some logs, or my personal favorite want to build a company from ground up? START!
Image
I have a lot of hobbies. Cars and bikes are constant passions of life, but almost every other pastime, fact, or experience that fits my moral code and will help me grow; I jump on like a trampoline. I have found it is easier when you have a group or common theme to create things with. Painting or cars design or media, if you have at least a basic common feel it’s much easier to let yourself run free with imagination, freedom of thought, and modify it your way. So Rii (pronounced rye) is that common theme and outlet for my artisan, skill building lifestyle. I feel the world is so focused on being products perfect, mass produced and technology driven. That is beautiful and has helped our world %4000 percent (I did the math) but nothing in life is absolute. Life needs balance, every step of modern society and product development kills the spirit and steers further away from the original goal by being less personal cheaper and more efficient . There is an exception to every rule. Rii is that exception. I want to see the brush strokes, forge damage, hammer marks and feel the soul of the person who created this object with passion, so that’s what I will create. Every company is created to make money? Nope, Rii started as a signature and an outlet. Just as there is balance, I guess shit has to at least support itself and that’s my goal. Many people create handmade things, then try to pay themselves shop rate by the hour. Yeah…your sculpture is cool and took you 5 weeks to make, but it was your expression that created it and your joy. It might be worth 1 million to you or 2 million to a very confused superficial business man, but to the people who would enjoy and appreciate it most. It’s probably best to just call the price “materials and enough for to save for your next blank canvas or mound of clay”. I want every penny to create the next project and roll it and roll it. Until I can support other people trying to express themselves, or collaborate with talent that might never make it, or be able to take their passion as a priority in life. Fuck money, I have experienced enough to know, power is being able to defend what you have and money is your defense in this world. I will use money like it uses me and that’s the end. Money is the means to get what I want, never the goal. Want to trade something? I’m down!
Image
If you read this far, go and like this post and comment! It helps me so much to get feedback, even if you never comment, just do it, I won’t bite and I hardly get feedback. At the end of this I didn’t really answer anything, just wrote. I will give you a summary and definition of what Rii is. Rii is unique one-off or limited production handmade products. Everything will always be imperfect and have character or soul. Rust is just as good of a paintjob as metallic paint, and I use both. I experiment and improve with every try while finding what is marketable and what is not. Everyone says “Wow that painting is so good, someone would pay so much for it!” really? Because someone else isn’t the one looking at it so how much is it worth to you, probably nothing. So I must find what people need or want from my never ending adventures. The image of the brand is open book, honest, but still always about the things I think are cool to me…like street art, it’s beautiful, someone risked their ass to create it just to get destroyed, but they did it anyways, it was a real passion that drove graffiti. I will create that feel without the violent and hard-core lifestyle attached more of a lifestyle of doing whatever you want as long as it’s a passion and not wack. Some passions appeal to me more than others, I like the kid that made the sacrifice and got his muscle car, not the one who modified the family car. I appreciate both for sure, but the true exceptional passion shows in the muscle car. It’s easy to try to please everyone and become cheesy or outdated and lost. I know what I want, like, and I change with the wind. People can deal with it. It won’t be about making money. Rii is myself and I hope what I create can be appreciated or identified with, and make other people either chase theirs or just realize that some people do. I waited to post like this because I wanted to already produce things and collaborate with people and I have. These are not empty words or promises, just my goal and what I’m doing, whether you decide to watch it happen and get involved or not. You may ask, well what do you actually make? The beauty of it is I have no business plan, business mentality, or definition to restrict myself. What I’m doing this summer is; media, art, décor, vehicle body parts for Japanese drift style cars, stickers and some clothing. Who knows what it will be by winter. Rii is my passion for life, I hope it can inspire some in yours whether your life is already filled with passion or empty. I will always try to support what I see as important. If you feel the same way, support it. This is right in front of you, your choice to see is as another snake, or see it as the rainforest it is.

Image

One thought on “What is Rii?

Leave a Reply

