Imagination, Red Green, And Concept Cars

I once heard the phrase “The imagination is a muscle” I believe it. The more I use my imagination the stronger it gets in terms of originality and ease of abstract thought. Unfortunately, as much as I love to imagine things, I can only dream so much until I must take action, set a goal, and start the road to achievement. That process can take many steps and manifest in many different ways. One dream might lead to buying tools and broken cars, or learning about a new topic with copious amounts of research, or just putting some paint on a canvas. They are the first steps on a long journey to an idea that will be refined through trail and error and manifest into physical life as knowledge becomes wisdom.

I often have to balance my dreams with the reality of the resources available to me and
usually the only resource I have is me, so I teach myself about the topic and fail a lot. The lack of resources like money or proper faculties leads me to usually trying to find the cheapest way of achieving my first and second prototype of an idea before investing money or finding space. I find myself searching things like “homemade arc welder” or “D.I.Y cement” which leads me to kijiji to find broken microwaves (arc welder) and maps for local limestone quarries (cement). I often blame the Comedian Red Green who I truly idolized as a kid, He was poor but enthusiastic and resourceful with what he already had. Maybe a little on the sketchy side but he was happy and never killed anyone with his contraptions…at least on air.

Well since I cannot currently modify million dollar hyper cars on my sisters outdoor cement pad, the ideas my imagination cooks up have to live as drawings on my computer, here are a few with a little info about each.

s13

Nissan 240sx coupe: Seeing that L.E.D. light bars have been growing in the modified truck world, they seemed like a perfect fit to act as headlights for this car which sparked this build. I also added; a inter-cooler, widened the front and rear fenders, added my own dished wheels with wider track, and roll cage. The shading and added background were quite the challenge to pull off but I think I did alright.

supra

Toyota Supra: This was the most requested car to photoshop on our facebook page. The picture also includes the original photo I started with beneath the “midnight warrior”. My Idea was to make the already famously fast Supra into a even more terrifying death trap. I added twin remote mounted turbos replacing the headlights and opened up the bumper cover to make room for dual inter-coolers, lowered with cage, rims, the spoiler and riveted aero I created with just a paint brush tool. Imagine a car made to run the famous Tokyo Wangan with nothing but the street lights to guide you and light your 200 m.p.h. path.

mr2
Toyota MR2 AW11: Sometimes only the wildly unrealistic will come from imagination, that’s OK. I feel no need to build a 2300HP nitrous injected V8 dragster in real life, but the idea popped in my head. So I made it into a reality by mixing a top fuel dragster and this classic mid engine sports car. This is as far as this idea will go, but just to show you no matter how unrealistic ideas seem, things like the Hennessy Venom and RUF CTR3 do exist….

.919

Porsche 918: Anyone who knows me will pick up pretty quick that I love Porsche. In fact yesterday I made my g/f walk around the local dealership to window shop with my dreaming ass, an embarrassing event I’m sure. With the new flagship model the 918 which competes directly with the La Ferrari and Mclaren P1 hyper cars, it got my mind wondering what a GT1 racing version would look like. Inspired livery from the 1980’s Jagermeister Porsche 956, I widened the track and wheels, added more flow to the air intakes in the front and sides and added a LeMans prototype suspended wing and fin inspired from the new 919 race car.
merc
Mercedes Benz C-Class: I wanted to try my hand at making a body kit for a car with no real life aftermarket support so I picked something new and expensive the likes of which little grubby kids like me can’t ruin. I created the front bumper, wing, side skirts, hood vent, and lip with nothing more than the paint brush tool and my increasing understanding of how light and reflections work. I also added rims from a 747 passenger jet, a bosozoku inspired shark nose hood, and wider fender arches. Leaving me happy with my progression on scratch built car parts.
rx7

MAZDA RX-7 FC: As old school 1930’s hot rods become increasingly scarce, new canvases must be used to create the classic “hot rod” style. Uni-body Japanese sports cars will be that canvas. The Picture above was the starting point for this idea. Below is the result.
rx7full

I had to almost completely remake the car from scratch, leaving only the door, half the windshield and 1/2 the rear quarter panel from the original car. I built a stripped and chopped front frame, chopped the rear end and windshield, rebuilt the interior with bucket seats and completed soft top, added 1930’s baby moon rims with whitewall tires, along with flipped up headlights low mounted. Staying with the classic “hot rod” theme of light weight with too much power I added a custom 4 rotor remote mounted twin turbo engine with v mounted inter-cooler and radiator, and side pipe exhaust. All put together on the famous Route 66 without a picture of a rx7s naked shell. Silly idea? Maybe but I think the world will see cars like this over the coming years as people look to build what no one has before.

These are just some of the photoshopped cars I have been passing my time with. Follow the rii projects facebook page to see more. Hope you enjoyed my imagination, time to take yours for a workout!

One thought on “Imagination, Red Green, And Concept Cars

  1. Gavin Elderkin

    could you make a concept involving a 3rd gen Firebird and the same LED bar headlight design? i want custom headlights and that just poped out to me, it is Unique, i have an 89 firebird 305ci with T-tops, and i will show my 3rd gen friends

    Reply

Leave a Reply

